The Adventures of Webmiss & Bert©



Odds and Ends

I’m so totally addicted to Solitaire it isn’t even funny. After I’ve jumped online and read through everyone’s blogs and written my own if I feel that way, I’ll load up Solitarie on my computer and play until I can’t hardly see straight. Oooh just talking about it right now is making me want to play. Hold back, Webmiss. Finish your blog entry first! In the last week I have played 65 games of Solitaire. Sadly I have only won 7 of those games. Pretty sad statistics huh? I think I’m working on the theory that practice makes perfect. At this rate though, I have a lot more practicing to do.

0197_spade.png0195_heart.png0196_clubs.png0194_diamond.png

Hailey and I dragged out the old Disney VHS tapes. ~ Woah, isn’t that a blast from the past? VHS tapes lol. I must be the last person on earth not watching their movies in digital crispness. ~ We’ve been watching the classics: The Little Mermaid, Aladdin, Alice in Wonderland, and Beauty and the Beast. I realized something when watching these movies. Ever since Disney went into cahoots with Pixar, the movies have changed. I can hear you all saying “Well DUH, Webmiss, of course they have.” I’m not talking about the animation though. I’m talking about MUSIC. Disney movies used to win awards for their original songs and musical scores. Remember how in The Lion King, Disney brought in the talent of Elton John to write “Can you feel the love tonight”, “In the Circle of Life”, et al? What about “A Whole new World” from Aladdin and “Under the Sea”, from the Little Mermaid? And that’s just the few that I can name off the top of my head.

 Since collaborating with Pixar I can only think of one musical Disney movie. Do you know which one I’m thinking of? I believe the song was called “You’ve got a friend in me” and it was from Toy Story, which if memory serves me correctly is the first Pixar/Disney movie. Wait just one sec for me. In an effort to be accurate, I’m going to go look that up.

[…]

Ok, thanks for waiting while I googled that. Yes, Toy Story was the first movie Pixar created for Disney.

So what happened since then? My daughter adores singing along to the songs in the Disney movies, as I’m sure a long line up of other young girls did before her. Historically, Disney movies on the whole were “musicals”, so why drop that? Is it an effort to become more adult-friendly? Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, and Cars were really the first cross-generational movies from Disney that attracted, and kept the attention of adults as well as children. I agree that marketing to the parents as well has been a lucrative move for Disney/Pixar studios, but I guess I’m just a sucker for the traditional. I miss the characters randomly breaking out into song to express their feelings about some plot twist. And darnit, you  have to admit some of those songs were incredibly catchy. Bet I’m not the only one that sings along with their kid!

0197_spade.png0195_heart.png0196_clubs.png0194_diamond.png

Now, a little blurb about CG. We have chatted every day this week! I will be working away and all of a sudden pop! a little chat window opens up on my screen. He usually opens with something like “Shhhhhsh! You’re being too loud!” Of course that’s a bald face lie as I’m probably the quietest person in the whole building. We chat back and forth about work and life things. We joke and tease each other. I’ve learned that he’s lived here all his life. Me too! He has a younger brother and sister. He went to college and majored in Marketing. He owns his own home and has two cats. Usually we keep the conversation light and airy, but it’s nice having someone I can joke around with at work.

He has set up a recycling box in his department and scolded me for throwing my milk carton in my trash can. He retrived it and rinsed it out for me, then showed me where the recycling box is. Now I at least have an excuse to go over to his desk, so I can do my part for the environment. Ya right, who am I trying to kid? I’m just going over there to get a glimpse of the eye-candy.

He is cute though. We’re roughly the same height. He’s got short dark hair, and he usually goes a couple days between shaving so he gets this dark, dangerous looking alter ego. He stops by my desk and chats whenever he walks by. We had an interesting conversation on Friday about his intense dislike of Indian food.

Oh lord. This is bad bad trouble. I’m gushing. Wow. That’s never happened to me before.

I haven’t done anything so ballsy as to ask him out. I think I’m afraid that I’m reading the situation wrong. He does chat with other women at work. There’s even a girl he has lunch with regularly. I’ve seen one of the women in his department come over to his desk and rub his head or his neck. Then I start to wonder, is he like this with all females? Perhaps his interest in me is strictly platonic. Maybe he’s trying to boost my self-esteem? I don’t know him well enough to decide if he is just one of those people with a naturally flirtatious personality.

I guess I’m just going to stick with what has worked so far. I smile and chat with him, but keep the tone light. I have to say that I am really enjoying things the way they are right now and wouldn’t mind continuing the innocent flirting.

What do you all say?


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * yankee-chick says:

    That innocent flirting can lead to all sorts of fun stuff! Keep it going, girl! Hopefully a date will be in the near future {fingers crossed}

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 11 months ago
  2. * cardiogirl says:

    I’m with you 100%. I would do exactly as you are doing, keeping things light and fun.

    You did throw me a curve ball with the chick who rubs his head or neck. (Gotta throw a side note in here. When I quickly re-read what I wrote I saw “the chick who rubs his head or cock.” Get your mind out of the gutter Cardiogirl! This is a family blog!) That piece alone would keep me where you are — following his lead and letting him decide where it’s going.

    It is possible that he his naturally flirtatious and this is just who he is. And that is why I would follow his lead, in an effort to keep egg off my face. I do think CG is interested in you, more than the other chicks at work, but keep playing it cool like Fonzie.

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 11 months ago
  3. * webmiss says:

    Oh Cardiogirl, I love you! I almost spit my diet coke all over the computer when I read your side note!

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 11 months ago
  4. * whatdayisit says:

    Yep! Nothing wrong with a litte flirting….and using the e-mail can be fun unless your company reads the interoffice greetings…might want to be a bit careful there. Maybe you could ::innocently:: drop a hint that you will be at a certain coffee shop or restaurant after work and see if he wants to join you…..just as office buddies, of course!

    Have fun and good luck with the Solitaire…..

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 11 months ago


Leave a comment