The Adventures of Webmiss & Bert©



The beginning of the end?

I’m a little sad tonight. This might be one of my last few blog entries. I received my internet bill the other day and almost fainted. It appears that my promotional period is over and the full price billing has kicked in. I just cannot afford it any longer. Things are so tight for me financially, I need to cut back and make sure that the necessities are covered. The cable and internet are being turned off, I have reduced the cost of my cell phone plan. I found out that my wireless provider gives me a 17% discount because of the company I work for. That is a pretty decent discount. I’ll have to see next month how much that actually reduces my bill. Also, I have not turned the heat on at all this winter. That has enabled my electric bill has been between $31-35 a month. I live paycheck to paycheck, and it should end up being even smaller come the beginning of January as the premiums for my medical benefits are going up. I’m really trying to cut back where I can, but I tell you, it makes me depressed to know that I work 40 hours a week just to survive. It’s scary to think that my whole life might be like this!

On 11/27 the state of TN had sent a garnishment notice to Mike’s employer. I think I mentioned previously that Mike has only been able to secure temporary employment through Express Personnel in Rochester, MN. I called on 12/21 as I still had not received any support and found out that EP had ignored the request. The state sent another letter out on 12/19, and if they ignore that, there will be legal action taken against them for interference with the collection of child support. I called Mike tonight to check on the status of his job as he mentioned it was only going to be seasonal work. He said they let him know today that his employment had been extended. For how long? He has no clue, or so he says. I asked him if he talked to anyone at EP about them ignoring the wage assignment, he said that they need to be sent to the corporate office in OK. Gave me a phone # for them, so I’ll call about that tomorrow. I don’t know why the local office didn’t just shoot off the letter to corporate and let them take care of it. Goodness, I feel like I’m living on the verge of the movie Deliverance. Bunch of back water hicks I seem to be dealing with here.

I was extremely surprised that Mike sent Hailey a Christmas present. He sent her nothing for her birthday and when I questioned it, he said “Gifts just really aren’t my thing.” Yes ladies and gentlemen, that is the lovely winner that I married. What was I thinking??

 Work is ridiculously slow right now. I think I took the first phone call in our department today, at 10:00 maybe 10:15. The majority of us spent the day cruising the internet and chatting to each other. I’m leaving at 2pm tomorrow for the beginning of another 4 day weekend, WOOT! I will be heading to Gatlinburg to meet my mother and Hailey who have been there all week shopping and sight seeing. I think the plan is to meet up with some close friends of my mothers and explore Dollywood. Yes, I have been there many times before, we bought season passes with my tax return last year, but I still haven’t visited all the little nooks & crannies. Hailey gets so excited when we go, that’s what will make it worthwhile for me.

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas. I know I sure did. I guess I’ll need to find time to blog about that too.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * yankeechick says:

    Oh, Sweetie! I’m sorry things are so bleak for you right now. I can’t believe that Mike is such a deadbeat and doesn’t pay support like he should. And what an operation that place he works for is! Hopefully that will get taken care of in short order and things will be looking up for you a bit.

    Have fun this weekend. It should be a good diversion from your troubles, at least for a few days. **Hugs**

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 4 months ago
  2. * junkmel says:

    I’m sorry to hear times are so tough for you. It sounds like you’re doing everything you can to keep the ends meeting. I’ve got my fingers crossed for you that the child support checks start soon. Hang in there.

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 4 months ago
  3. * whatdayisit says:

    Sorry to hear that things are getting so tight for you. I sure would miss hearing about your life…but I know you have to do whatever it takes to get by. Hope you havea wonderful time on your little getaway weekend. It sounds like fun.
    Happy New Year

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 4 months ago
  4. * sleepyjane says:

    Oh no WebMiss. I am really sad that things aren’t going very well for you right now. And I’ll also be sad when I won’t be able to read your blog. I hope things start looking up!

    Oh and happy new year hunni! I missed you! (hug)

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 4 months ago


Leave a comment