The Adventures of Webmiss & Bert©



Opinions please

I need to see if you all could do me a favor. Proof read the support letter that I will be sending in on Mr. Nascar’s behalf and please give me your honest opinion. I have not mailed it out yet, so I still have time for revisions.

Ms. Webmiss

My new house

Somewhere in East TN

December 19, 2008

RE: Parole Hearing of  Mr. Nascar

Tennessee Board of Probation and Parole
Address to some strange building
Nashville, TN

 
Honorable Members of the Parole Board:

My name is Webmiss, and I am the fiancée of Mr. Nascar,  inmate # 123456. I am writing today to show my support for a favorable decision in the matter of his parole hearing.

Mr. Nascar has been incarcerated since July 2008 for a technical violation of probation. Prior to this he had been thriving as a productive member of society. While on community corrections, Mr. Nascar was able to accomplish something that not many men with a felony conviction are able to do, he started his own business, Mr.Nascar’s Special Service. Mr. Nascar’s Special Service  is partnered with http://www.somewebsite.com, a division of SomeCompany. Through this partnership, Mr.Nascar’s business is referred clients who are doing business related things, that Mr.Nascar assists them with.

The remainder of his business comes from proactively marketing his services through online market places such as Craigslist.org and from referrals from Mr. Nascar’s satisfied customers. The business has thrived under Mr. Nascar’s ownership and management. Mr. Nascar wasn’t content just to sit back and supervise, he was present on nearly every job. His attention to detail and his friendly rapport with his customers garnered him a very positive reputation within the industry. For your reference, I have enclosed the (professional references). Those two documents will highlight the number of jobs that were scheduled with Mr. Nascar’s Special Service for those two months. Also, I have provided print offs from Mr. Nascar last customer reviews and as you can see, the customers were very satisfied with the services Mr. Nascar provided them. Even though Mr. Nascar has been incarcerated 5 months at the time of this letter, his phone continues to ring daily with job requests from people who have been referred to his company. Unfortunately we have had to shut down the business and turn those potential customers away.

In addition to his own business, Mr. Nascar was employed full-time by (name and company information removed). On most weekends he could also be found at different sporting events around the county, contracted by companies such as ESPN, Fox Sports, NASCAR and Raycom Sports to set up their audio and visual equipment.

Mr. Nascar has not been idle with his time on Community Corrections. He has actively sought to grow his business, and in doing so has employed men who were going through treatment at E. M. Jellinek Center in Knoxville. Mr. Nascar could empathize with them and understood that part of their successful introduction back into society was having someone believe in them and give them a chance. Mr. Nascar was that someone. He was able to train these men and provide them with an opportunity to learn a useful skill and get back on their feet, reducing the likelihood that they would turn back to their addiction and be at risk to re-offend. Mr. Nascar has also been faithful to his community service. Weekly he collected aluminum cans, turning them in for money and then donating that money to the Ronald McDonald house.

Mr. Nascar is a good person who unfortunately made poor choices in his past that have continued to negatively impact his life. Since his original sentencing, Mr. Nascar has come a very long way. With the help of his friends and loved ones he has been able to find purpose in his life, and turn away from the road he had been traveling. Consequently, Mr. Nascar has been making better, more positive choices in his life.

While his technical violation of his probation is indeed a setback, it is not an insurmountable one. I believe that together, Mr. Nascar and I have a plan to ensure his continued success as a member of society. We have thought long and hard about where we both want our lives to go and I am positive that our mutual goals will propel us toward a happier, healthier future. I believe in Mr. Nascar, and I believe in the two of us. I feel confident that I will be able to provide a safe, supportive, and loving atmosphere in which we will both be able to thrive. I am willing to attend the Celebrate Recovery classes at Cokesbury together with him, as well as take whatever steps are necessary to love and support him.

Honorable Board Members, I implore you to please take the time to consider the information that I have provided in this packet before making your final judgment. I sincerely hope that you will see the steps that Mr. Nascar has taken to right the wrongs of his past and that you will give him, and us, another chance.

I appreciate your time and attention in this matter.

Respectfully yours,

 Webmiss

Gosh it’s hard trying to type this out and remain mostly anonymous. I hope you were able to get the gist of what I was trying to say. Please be brutally honest, I want to ensure that I have made the most of my letter and that it will be as helpful as possible to Mr. Nascar.

Thanks ladies & gents.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. T’was the night before Christmas. « The Adventures of Webmiss & Bert© pingbacked on 15 years, 2 months ago

Comments

  1. * terri t. says:

    The support letter is very thorough and professional. You answered all the questions about what he had been doing in his real life and what plans are in line when he is released. You might want to add that you have been employed for xxx years in “job capacity”. I don’t think you need to state where you work specifically.

    Good luck.

    Thanks, Terri! I have a whole packet that I’ve put together. As part of his home plan I have listed where I work, how long I’ve been there, and even where we will be attending church together.

    | Reply Posted 15 years, 4 months ago
  2. * yankeechick says:

    What an excellent letter and packet you have put together! I sure hope it helps and things get back to ‘normal’ for you all very soon!!

    | Reply Posted 15 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Maxxy says:

    Looks mighty fine to me. I really hope eveything works itself for you WM. I’m going to blog about my Christmas & New year in a bit. Don’t hold your breath for anything exciting though eh ?? 😉

    | Reply Posted 15 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Charlie says:

    I know it’s probably too late – But I think the letter reads really well. I hope it provides the outcome you are hoping for.

    | Reply Posted 15 years, 4 months ago


Leave a comment